The Revenant Wins Big with 2016 DGA Awards, Further Further complicating the Oscar Race

After The Big Short took property the top prize for the Producers Guild Awards in addition to Spotlight won the highest honor at the SAG Accolades, the Oscar race looked like there was narrowing itself into these two ensemble dramas. In case you’ve forgotten that Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu’s The Revenant picked up Best Director and also Motion Picture (Drama) at the Golden Globes, Iñárritu’utes frontier revenge drama has taken home the particular prize for Best Feature Film at the Company directors Guild of America Awards, tightly cementing its place in the particular 2016 Oscar race.

The DGA Awards have been held last night, where Iñárritu won top honors for the second calendar year in a row, following his win last year with regard to Birdman. Iñárritu’s showbiz drama with Michael Keaton went on to help win Best Photo at the Oscars not long after. This year’ohydrates Oscar race is a bit unknown, given Spotlight and The Huge Short’s major victories from the PGA and Buckle — not to mention that we have The Martian, Brooklyn and Mad Max: Fury Road in contention for the best Picture, and any of those could still assert a surprise victory on February 28.

Iñárritu wasn’t the sole big winner for the DGA Awards last night, using HBO’s Game of Thrones and Veep picking up honors as well as Alex Garland earning a treasure for his directorial debut, Ex Machina. Here’s the full number of 2016 DGA Awards winners:

Feature Film
Alejandro González Iñárritu –
The Revenant (Victorious one)
Tom McCarthy –
Adam McKay – The Big Short
George Miller – Mad Greatest extent: Fury Road
Ridley Scott – The Martian


Jimmy Chin as well as Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi —
Liz Garbus – What Happened, Miss Simone?
Alex Gibney –
Going Clear: Scientology and the The penitentiary of Belief
Matthew Heineman –
Cartel Land (WINNER)
Asif Kapadia –


First-Time Function Film Director
Fernando Coimbra –
A Wolf at the Door
Joel Edgerton –
The Gift
Alex Garland –
Ex Machina (WINNER)
Marielle Heller –
The Diary of your Teenage Girl
Laszlo Nemes –
Son of Saul


Dramatic Series
Michael Engler –
Downton Abbey, “Episode 8"
Leslie Linka Glatter – Homeland, “The Tradition connected with Hospitality”
David Nutter – Game of Thrones, “Mother’s Mercy” (Victorious one)
Steven Soderbergh – The Knick, “Williams and Walker”
Matthew Weiner – Mad Men, “Person to be able to Person”


Comedy Series
Chris Addison –
Veep, “Election Night” (WINNER)
Louis C.K. – Louie, “Sleepover”
Mike Judge – Silicon Valley, “Binding Arbitration”
Gail Mancuso – Modern Family, “White Christmas”
Jill Soloway – Transparent, “Kino Hora”


Movies for Television and Miniseries
Angela Bassett –
Laurie Collyer – The Secret Lifetime of Marilyn Monroe
Paul Haggis – Show Me a Hero
Kenny Leon, Matthew Diamond – The Wiz Are living!
Dee Rees – Bessie (WINNER) 


Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Planned Programming
Paul G. Casey –
Real Time along with Bill Maher, “#1334"
Dave Diomedi – The Tonight Present Starring Jimmy Fallon, “Episode #325" (WINNER)
Don Roy King – Saturday Night Live, “Web host: Tracy Morgan/Musical Guest: Demi Lovato”
Ryan McFaul and Amy Schumer – Inside Amy Schumer, “10 Angry Men Inside Amy Schumer”
Chuck O’Neil – The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, “Episode #20142"


Variety/Talk/News/Sports — Specials
Sofia Coppola –
A Very Murray Christmas
Hamish Hamilton – The 87th School Awards
Don Roy King – Saturday Night Dwell 40th Anniversary Special (Champion)
Beth McCarthy Miller – Adele Live in The big apple City
Chris Rock – Amy Schumer: Live with the Apollo


Reality Programs
Brady Connell —
The Great Christmas Light-weight Fight, “Episode 304"
Ken Fuchs – Shark Tank, “702"
Steve Hryniewicz — Cutthroat Kitchen, “Superstar Mess up Finale: It’s Raining Ramen”
Bertram Van Munster – The Amazing Race, “Bring the Fun, Baby”
Adam Vetri – Steve Austin’s Shattered Skull Challenge, “Gods of War” (Success)


Children’s Programs
Paul Hoen –
Invisible Skull
Joseph Mazzarino – Sesame Street, “The Candy bar Thief”
Kenny Ortega – Descendants (WINNER)
Amy Schatz – Saving My Tomorrow, “Part 3"
Sasie Sealy — Gortimer Gibbon’s Life with Normal Street, “Gortimer and the Vengeful Violinist”


Juan Cabral, MJZ

Miles The author, Smuggler
Tom Kuntz, MJZ
Andreas Nilsson, Biscuit Filmworks (WINNER)
Steve Rogers, Dessert Filmworks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *